Buttrum’s Windmill, Woodbridge
When Buttrum’s Mill was built in 1836, it was at the cutting edge of milling technology, a product of the famous Suffolk millwright John Whitmore. Visitors can climb the tall tower to see its elegant machinery, including four pairs of millstones. Visitors are shown how the cap is automatically turned to face the wind by the fantail, and how the sails are made to turn by closing nearly 200 shutters. There is an attractive ground-floor display all about the mill.
Buttrum’s Mill is privately owned and maintained by Suffolk County Council.
TM 264 493
OS Sheet 169
In Burkitt Road, Woodbridge, 1/2 mile W of town centre. Turn off A12 at Grundisburgh Road roundabout, mill is signposted. Small car park adjacent
2020 – windmill closed due to the COVID-19 pandemic and restrictions with social distancing.
Suffolk County Council